Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow!


Up here on the Bruce, snow storms are a fact of life!

It comes like bananas!

This past week was an example if  the best of the worst.

I couldn’t help but notice that the first sign of a storm, it was the government offices that were shutting down, then the OPP were closing roads, then the schools then and only then did the small businesses start to shut down.

Under Ontario labour law, an employee gets paid for a minimum four hours if he or she was called in to work and gets sent home even if he is there for one minute.

I don’t know the rules, but if I drive a snow plow and the roads get closed right after I pick up my Timmy’s and I am stuck in Hepworth for 3 days am I paid for the time I spent at  Tims? By the same token, If I am an OPP and I decide to close the road in Hepworth, park the cruiser at Tims do I get paid for the down time.

Who makes the call on what is bad and what is not?

I recall when snow banks were as high as telephone poles and roads were one lane or less but the mail still got through and you never heard of shut downs in town.

It seems to me that at the first sign of a blow these days government shuts down and we are to fend for ourselves.

 Many a time I have listened to the road closures when I was on the road and had to wonder what the hell they were talking about as I drove on through what was a little snow after the schools were closed, offices shut down and everyone was sent home.

It seems to me that over the past few years we have been seeing less and less snow but more and more snow days!

Forty years ago we got to work come hell of high water. Today it seems everything closes in a heart beat under the guise of public safety.

Now I am not suggesting for a minute that we should ignore safety I am just saying that we see  a lot more closures today than what I have seen in the past.

Further, I think our road crews do a pretty fine job overall. I do have to wonder sometimes though!

This past week has been an adventure in that regard. With all the roads closed, the schools shut down , the civil service having snow days I noticed that my snow plow guy Mac Boulter, never missed a beat. He was there keeping my lane open regardless of how much snow fell. The guy was amazing!

I think we are very lucky over all and I do believe the men and women of our Civil service do a pretty damn good job but there are times when I have to wonder.

Bruce

2 thoughts on “Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow!

    • Хвала вам за ваше молитве верујем да су направили разлику!

      Ďakujem vám za vaše modlitby Verím, že sa rozdiel!

      Vă mulţumesc pentru rugăciunile voastre cred că au făcut o diferenţă!

      Bruce

Leave a Reply

