Sunshine List 2010

Thanks to the Owen Sound Suntimes
Sun shines brightly in health, education, police sectors
Posted 11 months ago
About 230 people in Grey- Bruce whose paycheques come from Ontario’s public purse made $100,000 or more in 2010, according to a quick read of the latest provincial sunshine list.

The annual Public Sector Disclosure list, first introduced in 1996 by the then Progressive Conservative government, contains many of the usual suspects.

Dr. Hazel Lynn, the medical officer of health with the Grey Bruce Health Unit, was the top-paid public servant in Grey- Bruce for the second year running. Her pay — $290,140,62 in 2010 — is set by the province, which picks up 75% of her base salary. Lynn shot to the top of the heap in 2009 after the province called for a $100,000 increase in her salary as part of a plan to attract and retain medical officers of health.

Maureen Solecki, the president and chief executive officer at Grey Bruce Health Services, was not far behind with a 2010 salary of $243,749.60. Thirtythree employees of Grey Bruce Health Services were on the list including three nurse practitioners and three registered nurses.

The local judiciary’s compensation ranked high in Grey- Bruce as well. Ontario Court justices Julia Morneau, George Brophy and Robert MacKenzie all earned salaries of $250,149.81.

The Hanover and District Hospital had eight employees, including three RNs, on the list while the South Bruce Grey Health Service had four.

The Bluewater District School Board, with 78, had the most sunshine list members. At the top of the heap was its superintendent of secondary education Alana Murray-Lawrence at $155,631.45.

The Bruce-Grey Catholic District School Board had 28 people on the list led by director of eduction Bruce MacPherson, who earned $166,781.07.

Half of the 10 city of Owen Sound employees earning $100,000 or more in 2010 were police officers. Then chief Tom Kaye’s salary was $153,142.21.

All four West Grey sunshine members were police officers and two of the three from Saugeen Shores were cops. Hanover Police Chief Tracy David, at $117,819.46, was joined by CAO/clerk Michael Dunlop ($113,618.62) as that municipality’s members.

South Bruce Peninsula paid two CAOs — Malcolm McIntosh and Rhonda Cook — more than $100,000 each in 2010. The chief administrative officers of both Bruce and Grey counties and Brockton, Kincardine, Meaford, Saugeen Shores, Blue Mountains and Georgian Bluffs were all on the list.

Bruce County had 13 sunshine members in all, including two Brucelea Haven RNs. Grey County had 10.

Municipalities with no employees earning $100,000 or more include Grey Highlands, Northern Bruce Peninsula, South Bruce, Chatsworth, Huron-Kinloss and Southgate.

Carol Mitchell, the MPP for Huron-Bruce and the province’s minister of agriculture, food and rural affairs, made $164,359.68, Simcoe-Grey MPP Jim Wilson earned $129,254.04 and Bruce- Grey-Owen Sound MPP Bill Murdoch had a salary of $116,550.

The 2010 list had 71,478 civil servants provincewide making $100,000 a year or more — an 11% increase from 2009. The top earner was Tom Mitchell, president and CEO of Ontario Power Generation, who had a salary of $1.325 million.

The entire list can be found at disclosure/2011/.

Rhonda Cook 2011 $124,000.00


6 thoughts on “Sunshine List 2010

  1. thewackyone says:

    $124 000!!!! Peanuts. Damages and turmoil to town and taxpayers PRICELESS!!!

  2. beachboy63 says:

    Does that $124,000 include the legal fee payment benefit she received in 2011? Maybe I’ll let the Tax Man know so that he can check her income tax return real close.

  3. oink says:

    Town of South Bruce Peninsula
    315 George Street
    PO Box 310
    Wiarton ON N0H 2T0

    Press Release


    March 26, 2012

    The Council for the Town of South Bruce Peninsula wish to make a public statement to advise that Rhonda Cook is no longer in the employ of the Town of South Bruce Peninsula.

    Rhonda worked very hard as a CAO, and we are appreciative of her many contributions and dedication to the Town over the years.

    We wish her success in her future endeavours.

    Mayor John Close, Councillor Marilyn Bowman, Councillor Janice Jackson, Councillor Jay Kirkland, Councillor Karen Klages, Councillor Paul McKenzie, Councillor Matt Standen, Councillor Chris Thomas and Councillor Jim Turner

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s